Guess who got called to the ‘principal office’ today……

This machine can measure the size of particles as small as 50 nanometers.
This machine can measure the size of particles as small as 50 nanometers.

Today was a very mixed bag of nuts.  Yesterday, I learned several new filters and techniques to reduce the white noise and background while recording the video clips.  The research team agreed to redo all the video clips.  While we were recording new clips, everyone wrote new scripts.

My advisor called me about 9:30 to have me explain some of the education abbreviations.  He was having fun reading through the module, learning some of the classroom jargon, making suggestions and additions along the way.  I had fun reminding him, we need to bring it down to a high school level.

Back to recording, editing, filtering, adding closed captions, and often, recording take 3 (or 4 or 5 or…. you get the picture).

About 1 PM, an excited professor asks if I would like to see a demonstration of a CT machine.  Heck yea… I donned a radiation badge, some special glasses and into the CT room to scan some metal for defects.  LIVE results.  It was amazing to watch the fractures in the metal appear on the enlarged scan.  The machine was measuring fractures as small as 10 micrometers.

2015-07-07 11.32.16
that is argon gas inside a laser chamber.

Back to recording, editing, yada, yada, yada.  Had to include a few chapters of auto caption for laughs.  “different types of Pomeranians and Labradors” instead of “different types of polymers in this laboratory.”  And “scary fold pygmies can bemuse mining home alone” instead of “scaffold polymers can be used to mimic bone growth”

Phone rings: “Mark, can you bring come visit Dr. Pai?”  Uh, oh.  What did I do?  Dr. Pai said that Dr. Sankar, the director of the ERC would like to meet me and chat.

“Mark, I heard you are very passionate about teaching,” was his opening line.  It seems, several people had reported I was completely engrossed in this research experience and took every opportunity to see and try every experiment and equipment I could.  We chatted about his experiences in the ERC, the breakthroughs the program has developed and the advances in many areas of engineering over the years.  “The one thing we have not done well is community outreach.  I want your help.”
“Me, why me?”  “Your passion is contagious.  You have people thinking about the kids we don’t reach.  I want to reach YOUR kids.”

The conversation went that way for a while and I had to soak it in.  How could my student population utilize this place.  I need time to think.

Got back to the lab and you could tell they knew I got called to the office…..  Smiles, smirks and those, ‘well????’ looks from everyone.

“I got homework.  My passion got me in trouble again” is what I said.  Sat down, started the editing again.  “Polymers  make wound healing quicker” became “Pollywogs make willful quicksand.”

Leave a Reply

